Spring Concert 2019

Saturday 30 March 2019
United Reformed Church,
Southernhay, Exeter
Time: 7.30pm

Spring Concert 2019

A Moorside Suite - Holst

Concerto for Orchestra - Bela Bartok

Piano Concerto in G minor - Felix Mendelssohn (soloist: Kiana Shafiei)

Details of the programme are now finalised.

A Moorside Suite for Orchestra – Gustav Holst

Concerto for Orchestra – Bela Bartok         

Piano Concerto in G minor - Mendelssohn. 

Kiana Shafiei

While spring 2019 may seem some way off, - and endless tedious news bulletins away over Brexit, {although that won't affect our programme!!} - it is amazing how planning ahead can be fraught with music availability problems discovered at the last minute.

Having conducted the Stokowski arrangement of the Bach Prelude and Fugue several times in my life it was astonishing how difficult it was to find a set for the March concert this year!!

So what is the problem for next year I hear you all ask? Well - while the Holst is an amazing piece - the publishers have withdrawn both full band and orchestral sets, so it depends on finding a library with a set still available. We think we have found one, but with the orchestral version - not the wind band one.

The Bartok Concerto for Orchestra is probably his best known and most easily listened to piece, and we should have no problems there. The one testing feature is the way Bartok explores and features groups of instruments, putting most sections under pressure and in the limelight. However, its colourful use of the instruments; its foottapping and lyrical melodies, as well as quite a few bits that sound very like Dvorak,should give listeners no problems if this is your first time with this great 20th century composer.

As for a piano concerto we always have a good waiting list of soloists wanting to play with us,and I can now confirm that the Persian pianist - Kiana Shafiei - will be joining us for the Piano concerto in G minor - Mendelssohn.

Kiana has just finished her music doctorate here in England with great success.

In the meantime, thank you to all our continued supporters, and a great pleasure and reward it is to be playing for you all.