< Back

Summer Concert 2018

Saturday 7 July 2018
United Reformed Church,
Southernhay, Exeter

Summer Concert 2018

A Cotswold Symphony - Gustav Holst

Famous film themes - '633 Squadron' and ''Where Eagles Dare' -

Concierto de Aranjuez - Rodrigo (soloist: Andreas Moutsioulis)

Eclogue for piano and strings - Gerald Finzi (soloist: Nina Leonard)

The Golden Island - David Norrish


Our recent summer concerts have have been a fine mixture of english music; well-known incidental/film music, and some colourful and varied music for the visiting soloists.

In 2015 we had such pieces as 'Raiders of the Lost Ark', 'Gabriel's Oboe', and a fine trumpet concerto. In 2016 - promoting the Devon Wild Life trust - insects,birds, and animals came to the fore with Wasps,Cuckoo and Faune all featured, and the wonderful young violinist, - who has played with us on several occasions - Tamsin Waley-Cohen, playing the great Tchaikovsky violin concerto.

This summer 2017 it was the turn of the renowned cellist - Raphael Wallfisch - to join us for the celebrated Cello concerto by Dvorak.Other 'guests' included the Walkyries, and a symphony by the great English composer Sir Arthur Bliss - a modern work coming second only to the Dvorak for enthusiastic responses from our wonderfully supportive and appreciative audience.

Where will this summer take us then I hear you ask? Film music will again feature as shown in the programme above, plus a very attractive and tuneful celebration of the Cotswolds in the Cotswold Symphony by Gustav Holst - best known for his Suite - The Planets. The concerto will be the famous and well known guitar concerto by Rodrigo - Concierto de Aranjuez, with the locally based soloist Andreas Moutsioulis. Find his website here

A young local Exeter pianist currently at Wells school will be joining us for her first outing with an orchestra in the beautiful miniature for piano and strings - 'Eclogue' - Gerald Finzi. Yet more local interest is the first performance of a suite of dances inspired by the East - where I often examine. 'The Golden Island' is written by David Norrish who leads our second violins.

The persian born pianist Kiana Shafiei hopes to play the concerto in our November 2019 concert, but this is not yet decided so watch out for further details/ changes etc. I will leave the link to her website atm for more info - www.kianashafiei.com/ - and the chance to listen to some of her fine playing.


Concierto de Aranjuez - Rodrigo

Concerto for guitar and orchestra

Soloist: Andreas Moutsioulis - Guitar